Solo Camping – Self Love Time

img_0498-1June 2, 2017 – On my way home from work after a really long week, I decided I needed some “me” time to relax and rejuvenate.  I am what some call, an “out-going introvert”….I love people and socializing, but to refuel, I need alone time.  This was definitely one of those times.

I pulled in the driveway and tossed my tent, mattress pad, bedding, mini cooler and a few personal items into the Jeep.  I stopped by the BMX track to help out with the Friday night race – I injured my ankle so wasn’t quite up to riding yet.  Then I said my good-byes and jumped in the Jeep and aimed it toward Manchester State Park – about a 20 minute drive from the BMX track in Port Orchard, WA.  En route I realized I had brought my book, but not my journal, so I made a quick stop at a mini mart and bought a spiral notebook and a pen.  Can’t have a soul searching evening and nothing to write with in my world.

I pulled into the campground around 9:30 – it was basically dark, so I let the lady at the booth pick a site for me.  She reminded me I had only 30 minutes before quiet time so I needed to set-up quickly.  I found my spot – #24 – not my ideal spot I realized after wandering the campground the next day, but it suited my purpose just fine.

img_0503-1  img_0505-1

I used my headlamp to pitch my dome tent and get my bed ready, and then I crawled inside for an evening of quiet reading, writing, snacking and hard root beer drinking.  I stayed up a couple hours just enjoying the solitude and then went soundly to sleep in the cool air – I love sleeping outdoors!

img_0506-1 img_0507-1 img_0508-1

The next morning I woke up to a squirrel sitting on my tent staring at me upside down through the screen in the door.  He ran off as soon as I opened my eyes.  Waking up surrounded by nature is so refreshing!

I quickly packed up my camp, grabbed some cherries and a water and set off to explore the campground and hiking trails.  It was slow going with my sore ankle, but I made it.

I wandered through the campground to the day use area, and then up a gravel path by the water.

img_0514 img_0516-1

img_0518  img_0519

img_0521  img_0524

I found several old military buildings and saw the ferry boats passing by.  I manged to make it up the HUGE flight of stairs and back to the campground just in time to hop in the Jeep and head back to the BMX track to volunteer if needed for the Saturday morning race.

I felt so much better after spending a spontaneous evening in nature and ready to take on the rest of the weekend, which was very busy indeed.

Leave a Reply

